Writer’s Quote Wednesday

Most of the basic material a writer works with is acquired before the age of fifteen.
Willa Sibert Cather
(1873 -1947) was an American author who achieved recognition for her novels of frontier life on the Great Plains, including O Pioneers! (1913), The Song of the Lark (1915), and My Ántonia (1918).

I am participating in Writer’s Quote Wednesday over at Silver Threading.com. the above is my quote for this week.

This one had me thinking. I have written many essays which made for decent reading, I hope. Whenever I would read them aloud to family members there would be such laughter. I felt like a stand up comic. In the writing of it though, that was not my intention. I got the feeling that the absurdity of the situations mixed with innate sadness unfelt then, but evident now was at play.

Makes for colorful writing right?

So thinking back, this time line fits. These events all took place before the age of fifteen. Willa Cather had a point. I do remember that around the teen years everthing was a matter of life and breath.

Before that, life was in technicolor, so graphic, everything and everyone was huge and larger than life. Until I grew up and went back home, where of course, everything had shrunk.

For Silver Threading for Writer’s Quote Wednesday. For other quotes follow this link:

For Silver Threading

 

 

3 responses to “Writer’s Quote Wednesday

  1. Pingback: #Writer’s Quote Wednesday & #BeWoW – The Weekly Wrap-Up from 1/6/16 – Silver Threading

Leave a Reply

