Writers Quote Wednesday

I am participating in Writer’s Quote Wednesday over at SilverThreading.com with Colleen. This is in conjuction with RonovanWrites.com. All are invited, pop on over for a read of the entries or to join in:)

“I hold a beast, an angel and a madman in me an enquiry as to their working and my problem is their subjugation and victory, down throw and upheaval and my efforts their self – expression.”

Dylan Thomas

Sounds like he’s been on my insides.

………………………………………………………………..

Be yourself. Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish.

John Jakes

I need to listen to this one myself. I am forever editing what comes out of me..to fit what – I don’t know

………………………………………………………………..

How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live.

Henry David Thoreau

For some reason the person that came to mind when I read this was Hemingway.

These are my contributions for this week.

http://silverthreading.com/2016/02/24/forests-trees-and-people-writers-quote-wednesday/

Pat R
2/24/16

5 responses to “Writers Quote Wednesday

  1. Loved all your quotes, Pat. I do have an affinity with the Dylan Thomas one. Sounds like my insides also, but I’ll change it to Fool, Angel and Madman. No Beast inside of me. I’m a pussycat, usually. Ha ha!

    Like

    • Thanks:) on Hemingway….He kinda lived his writing, well he lived it first, then wrote it seems i.e. his life in Italy as an ambulance driver in WWI  – A Farewell to Arms.

      Running of the bulls in Pamplona and bullfights -The Sun Also Rises & Death in the Afternoon. I don’t know if he was ever in the ring with a bull, but he sure was obsessed with it. But he did run with the bulls.

      He was a reporter in the Spanish Civil War, following a guerilla unit –
      For Whom the Bell Tolls.

      Like

Leave a Reply

