Gardenia

image

Gardenia
A scent all its own
Melancholy – I call it
In this cloud
Strains of strange fruit

Pat R

4/08/16

For NaPoWriMo where the prompt today is flowers

http://www.napowrimo.net/day-eight-3/#comment-23591

7 responses to “Gardenia

  1. This is the second poem about gardenias I am reading in the past few hours and it is so poignant to get a glimpse, an inside-the-soul peek, of how these flowers nurture us, and how their omen differs from person to person. Gardenias especially.
    I loved your poem, the images presented put a heavy weight on the mind, of something so beautiful and so lonely, perhaps.

    Like

    • I know what you mean about heavy weight on the mind. Especially for a flower with such an awesome scent and such beauty. I love the flower but whenever I think of it, this is how it presents itself. Thank you for taking the time to comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 8 – “Vulnerable Delight” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

